• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

UML IT infrastructure

This topic is 2148 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi all!

As a programmer I am really frustrated with the state of the art.
Interfaces are often set in stone. Hardcoded software is very hard to refactor. Libraries were developed with a different focus than what you actually need etc.
If you are not off the charts smart starting and finishing a complex project is extremely hard.

After looking into CASE I started wondering if things need to be that difficult or if it might be the tools that make things harder.

What do you think about the following thoughts ... why isn't IT moving in the following direction:

UML is pretty mature and NoSQL is on the rise ... there could be a UML management service that
- makes the definition of models (UMLDL) and instances (UMLML) that go with the models possible
- allows developers and users to browse the models (UMLQL) if they have the rights to make the query (UMLCL)
- allows syndication of defined models
- is multidimensional (layers that can be parametrized)
- allows streaming (given changing parameters)
- comes with concurrent version support (maybe as a dimension)
- would be a low level infrastructure for a new generation of tools

Most developers would not have to worry about UML ... because there would be new authoring tools that can be customized and expanded easily ... getting the meta data as a model and JSON objects that they understand because they have the meta data.

Guess the google video about "Apps without borders" really got me thinking.

I don't see any show-stoppers ... what do you guys think? And does anybody know of an effort based on similar thoughts?

I started working on a Java implementation but I guess the concepts (like a RFC) should really be done by smarter people.