• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
mkuehling

Aspiring game developer needs advice

This topic is 2333 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello everyone, I just signed up for this forum after browsing it and think it would be of great and vast assistance to me. Let me get right off the bat and state that I have absolutely no knowledge of programming, but wish to learn. My background is in 2d traditional art and composing music. I have a great idea for an action rpg, similar to 16 and 32 bit console games but with a modern twist. It's a lofty goal at this point, and I know I must start small. But I don't know where to start.

I've been playing a lot of flash games lately and was wondering if I should start there, or with java? Eventually I want the game to be a standalone and not browser based to run on a pc. I also want to make several smaller, simpler games before I progress to my big idea, as in the end I would like to market the product.

I was thinking I could start in flash, but after checking out the price of Adobe Flash Pro CS6 that really truely killed that idea. (Almost seven hundred dollars)

Any advice would be much appreciated, and I thank you for your time.

Advertisement
Well good news for you is that Java is completely free and there are some very nice editors you can use too such as Eclipse. But since you're a novice to programming in general, perhaps starting with Java might be a little overwhelming for you. If you want to use Java, you should first get a book and learn the very basics. Java is an OOP language which will force you to use classes; other languages such as ActionScript are less strict and allow you to code procedural. That last sentence probably doesn't make much sense to you at the moment.