• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Micah Carrick

Time-based movement slower than FPS

This topic is 2271 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm relatively new to game-specific programming and I'm playing in C/SDL and pygame. Many of the samples and tutorials use the time since the last frame, delta, to calculate the movement for a sprite. However, as far as I can tell, this would only work if the speed of the sprite is greater than the framerate.

My solution would be to store and manage the last time that particular sprite was updated, separate from the general delta on each game frame, and only move the sprite when the pixel movement is greater than 1. Is that how this would normally be handled? Should I be storing different deltas for every sprite that *may* be moving slower than the FPS? Or is it just standard practice to cap the FPS and remember to keep speeds faster than that?

Advertisement
Um, how about using floats as position?
Only round the values when it's necessary. Pretty much when rendering the sprites.

Yeah, I was thinking about that, but, I was trying to keep the Python version simple by using only the pygame.Rect class: http://pygame.org/docstest/ref/rect.html which stores the position as integers. Perhaps using the Rect in my case is not meant to be. I guess I'll try storing the values in floats and then convert them to the pygame.Rect when needed (as the pygame.Rect still has some nice conveniences when dealing with other pygame classes).

Thanks

I'm relatively new to game-specific programming and I'm playing in C/SDL and pygame. Many of the samples and tutorials use the time since the last frame, delta, to calculate the movement for a sprite. However, as far as I can tell, this would only work if the speed of the sprite is greater than the framerate.