• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Having trouble linking libraries (using SDL)

This topic is 2090 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I've some experience programming in C++ but never using third party SDKs or libraries, only those that are the original libraries of the C++ language.

I am trying to learn to program applications using SDL. I just started using it. I'm reading this tutorial http://www.sdltutori...tutorial-basics

[color=#000000][background=rgb(244, 244, 244)]I am using Visual C++ 2010 Express. I have downloaded the runtime library "[/background]SDL-1.2.15-win32.zip" and the development libraries
"SDL-devel-1.2.15-VC.zip".

I extracted the content from the development library and extracted it on the folder "D:\SDL\". I made a new project on my Visual C++ 2010. I selected to make a empty project. I simply wrote a program described in the tutorial. I went to project properties->Configuration Properties->
VC++ Directories->Include Directories->"D:\SDL\Include\".

I set the Include path to the folder where all the SDL headers are placed.

Next, I have to link the SDL.dll, SDL.lib and SDLmain.lib in the project and this is where I am having trouble to get the program to execute.
Here is how I set the path, in the VC++ Directories->Library Directories->"D:\SDL\lib\x86\".

When I build the program, it gave me "LNK 1561, entry point must be defined" error. Although I wrote a .cpp file that has a "main" function.

Then I enter the "lib" folder path to project Properties->Configuration Properties->Linker->Input->Additional Dependencies->"D:\SDL\lib\x86".

but still I am getting the same "LNK 1561, entry point must be defined error"...

Can someone please tell me where do I have to give the address of these three files "SDL.dll", "SDL.lib" and "SDLmain.lib" in the Project properties???