• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Bloody Blender Nightmare

This topic is 2089 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello Everyone,

So I have been working strictly as a 3D modeler, doing models only professionally for several years now. I can texture, and make textures, but there is and always has been a problem with how the texture layers over the object. I have been banging my head against the wall for a couple months. Watching tutorials, reading things, advanced, things, simple things, other things... things about things about things...

The issue: Incorrect overlay

Images such as this one...

[sharedmedia=gallery:images:2308]

Which I would want to circle round into a tube or doughnut shape, are not doing so. ideally, it would tile horizontally and in the bake look like a doughnut. cause I believe it would be extremely difficult to paint material grain into seamless tubes/circles.

The Process:
So generally i build my model, mark uvs, assign materials, assign textures to those materials, edit image mapping options and then, bake to my single image.

[sharedmedia=gallery:images:2309]

Which is mostly correctly in resolution, and but has fragments of error as it isn't being told to apply the material correctly to the model in blender 3D. I know this is user error.

So I go down the list of every possible option, tile setting, and etc till I end up with something like this.

[sharedmedia=gallery:images:2311]

Now I can scale this, stretch it, repeat it, torture it, kick and cuss it yet it is pretty much now crappy resolution due to improper texture mapping application to the material.

The Help:

So i speak to a contact who does blender tutorials. I figure he can help me, and I say hey I am having this problem, been trying to solve it myself for months, do you have a little time. Sure. I explain the issue best I can.