• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Rikonator

Map Editor/Tookit

This topic is 2325 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm a pretty new game developer (if I can be called that), having started working with C++ and SDL recently. I managed to make a few simple clones. I also worked on a platformer (more of a tech-demo), with poor physics and levels created using a tile editor I made in SDL.

I now want to improve the complexity of my games, and hopefully create a good, unique 2D game. I have been reading about game physics and am trying to create an engine with basic physics. I intend to have complex game objects, as well.

Now, to I want to make a utility or a map editor to help me design levels which my game can use. Something in which I can place objects arbitrarily, and define their properties.

I have been searching, but I haven't been able to find any tutorials/articles for this particular topic. I'll really appreciate if you can tell me how I should approach this. And what should I use to do it. Is SDL sufficient, or do I need something else?

Advertisement
The question is quite broad, I don't think there's a simple (or any) answer to that question.

[spoiler]It totally depends on the game: tile/gird based or not, how large the maps are, is there some kind of portal system, like rooms or not. Heck, we don't even know what genre you have in mind.

Totally depends on your goals with the editor (do you wantat reusable, complex tool, or just something with which you can make maps for that specific game), etc.

Maybe MS paint is just enough for the job, probably with a dead simple, external tool for converting the color data for your map format. This would be sufficient for a tile/grid based game.
Maybe a simple text editor would be enough, where you specify coordinates, properties of object or whatever.