Typical responsibilities / deadlines per week and size of team

Started by
14 comments, last by Tom Sloper 11 years, 9 months ago
As a game developer, I was wondering what are some of the responsibilities you would typically be expected to complete in any given week? (like complete an inventory system, a navigation class, a dozen shaders, etc.) I ask in regard to both smaller games and larger ones, such as Left4Dead or CoD. I know the answer may be quite varied, but I'd like to hear all scenarios if you will.

Also what are the typical size of those teams?

On a personal note, I'm trying to gauge the workload of a game programmer and my own work speed relative to it...

Thanks!
Advertisement
If you don't have a very good scrum master or similar, your team will be limited to around 5 developers. It is better to use an agile method with sprints between different beta versions and a quality standard instead of hard deadlines and crunch time. If you don't want the game to be released with 1000 bugs, you need someone who only work with testing and defining code conventions based on what mistakes the programmers do.

1. what are some of the responsibilities [a game programmer] would typically be expected to complete in any given week?
2. I ask in regard to both smaller games and larger ones, such as Left4Dead or CoD.
Also what are the typical size of those teams?
3. On a personal note, I'm trying to gauge the workload of a game programmer and my own work speed relative to it...

1. Maybe this article will offer some insight.
2. Some of those games show credits in the manual, or let you see them via the in-game menu. A game team can vary in size from 20 to 200, depending on the scale and scope of the game.
3. You will work 40 hours a week, normally, and may sometimes be asked to work more. Read about QoL (quality of life) in the game industry in these articles:
http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/3656/quality_of_life_does_anyone_still_.php