• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
SpaceJesus

Better random generation for spawning enemies in Flash game

This topic is 2303 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am not a full programmer, but I doing a little retro game in Flash AS2.

I having a problem with the flash Random. It´s not random enough. I use random to generate the position X where the enemies spawn and the type of enemy (between 5 types).

Random in Flash generate clustered values. Sometimes a lot of one type of enemy spawn. There are tricks I can use to get a more varied random results?

Ex (not the entire code):

// random function between 5 types of enemies, with different frequence
this.onEnterFrame = function()
{
_root.pE = (Math.random()*1000);

if ( ((_root.pE >30) and (_root.pE <250)) or ((_root.pE >600) and (_root.pE <750)) or ((_root.pE >800) and (_root.pE <850)))
{
_root.qI="e01p";
}
if ( ((_root.pE >250) and (_root.pE <320)) or ((_root.pE >750) and (_root.pE <800)) )
{
_root.qI="e02p";
}
if ( ((_root.pE >320) and (_root.pE <400)) or ((_root.pE >850) and (_root.pE <920)) )
{
_root.qI="e03p";
}
if ( ((_root.pE >400) and (_root.pE <450)) or ((_root.pE >950) and (_root.pE <1000)) )
{
_root.qI="e04p";
}
if ( ((_root.pE >0) and (_root.pE <30)) or ((_root.pE >920) and (_root.pE <950)) )
{
_root.qI="e05p";
}

//control how much ships are generate each time
if(_root.iTotalShips <10)
{
_root.iEnemies++;
_root.attachMovie(_root.qI, "Enemy" + _root.iEnemies, _root.getNextHighestDepth());
_root["Enemy" + _root.iEnemies]._x = 20+random((_root.horizontalspace)-60);
_root["Enemy" + _root.iEnemies]._y = -30 - (random(400));
_root.iTotalShips++;
}

[/quote]

Link for the game (not finished):
http://mcn78.sites.uol.com.br/Game1m.html

Advertisement
Search for "Mersenne Twister".