Sign in to follow this  
Ecoste

Extending a normalized vector?(3d)

Ecoste    149
Hello, I have a normalized vector on my hands(Where the camera is facing) and I basically need to extend it further(Basically, draw a line to where I'm looking at) I'm not that good at math, could any body explain how to do it? Thanks.

taby    1265
If you are looking at a particular object...

Get the distance (... ie. the length of the vector that stretches... ) from the camera position C to the object position O being looked at: d = length(C - O).
Multiply your normalized vector by d: V = N * d.
Draw a line segment starting at C and ending at C + V.

(or just save yourself the steps and draw a line segment starting at C and ending at O) Edited by taby

Ecoste    149
[quote name='taby' timestamp='1341172220' post='4954626']
If you are looking at a particular object...

Get the distance (... ie. the length of the vector that stretches... ) from the camera position C to the object position O being looked at: d = length(C - O).
Multiply your normalized vector by d: V = N * d.
Draw a line segment starting at C and ending at C + V.

(or just save yourself the steps and draw a line segment starting at C and ending at O)
[/quote]

Well, I basically know where I'm looking at, I just need to extend that vector and draw a line at the end of the extended version.

taby    1265
Um ok. So it sounds like maybe you want the line segment broken up into two segments?

If not, then go with what I said earlier...

d = length(C - O)
Line segment: C to C + N*d.

If so, try...

d = length(C - O)
Unit length line segment: C to C + N
Remainder line segment: C + N to C + N + N*(d - 1).

Consider that the first method (ie. one segment) works a bit better than this second method (ie. two segments) in cases where d is less than 1.