Sign in to follow this  
Gavin Williams

DX11 Debugging SlimDX using PIX, PerfStudio and VS2012

Recommended Posts

I have had some success with using PIX to debug SlimDX (and that only very recently) but I haven't managed to get PerfStudio (2.9) to work yet. Has anyone had success with that tool ? It seems to connect to some extent, I can even see my shader in the servers ShaderCache folder. But when i pause in GPUPerfClient it tries to connect and fails, appearing to time-out. The log file is below as well as the console output. I have read in another forum post that at least for nvidia tools, it can help to use certain methods of creating the device or swap-chain. Has anyone been able to use PerfStudio and under what conditions ?

On a related note, I've noticed that VS2012 has reached RC, I'm thinking of downloading it and taking a look (for the purposes of trying the built in graphics tools) I downloaded the Developer Preview and made the mistake of installing it on my main computer, it screwed up my environment a bit and I ultimately reinstalled Windows. But I figure RC is probably fixed up enough to not cause the same problems. Can anyone confirm this ? I read that Mike P. has tried VS2012 without success (in using the gfx debugger) so Im not likely to do better but I'm still curious. And again on that point, has anyone had success using VS2012 with managed code / SlimDX ?

Any discussion or assistance is much appreciated

[b]PerfStudio log :[/b]

---------------BEGIN------------------
App : C:\Users\Gavin\Documents\Visual Studio 2010\Projects\WH\WH\bin\Debug\WH.exe
PID: 5240
Time: 2012-Jul-09 20:33:38
20:33:51.781232: Message: 5652 Server : 0: 127.0.0.1 - /Process.xml
20:33:52.261233: Message: 5652 Server : 1: 127.0.0.1 - /Process.xml
20:33:52.761233: Message: 5652 Server : 2: 127.0.0.1 - /Process.xml
20:33:53.281234: Message: 5652 Server : 3: 127.0.0.1 - /Process.xml
20:33:53.621235: Message: 5652 Server : 4: 127.0.0.1 - /5240/DX11/ShowStack
20:33:53.661235: Message: 5652 Server : 5: 127.0.0.1 - /5240/DX11/PushLayer=TimeControl
20:33:53.681235: Message: 5652 Server : 6: 127.0.0.1 - /5240/DX11/TC/Settings.xml
20:33:59.521243: Message: 5652 Server : 7: 127.0.0.1 - /5240/DX11/PushLayer=FrameCapture
20:33:59.591243: Message: 5652 Server : 8: 127.0.0.1 - /5240/DX11/TC?realpause=True
20:33:59.601243: Message: 5652 Server : 9: 127.0.0.1 - /5240/DX11/TC?Speed=0
20:33:59.611243: Message: 5652 Server : 10: 127.0.0.1 - /5240/DX11/FC?HandleMapsOnCPU=False
20:33:59.631243: Message: 5652 Server : 11: 127.0.0.1 - /5240/DX11/FC/Capture?Stream=0
---------------BEGIN------------------
App : C:\Users\Gavin\Documents\Visual Studio 2010\Projects\WH\WH\bin\Debug\WH.exe
PID: 5240
Time: 2012-Jul-09 20:33:59
20:35:07.210337: Message: 5652 Server : 12: 127.0.0.1 - /5240/DX11/PushLayer=FrameDebugger
20:35:08.350338: Assert: 5240 : Instance's vtable not managed!
20:35:08.350338: Message: 5652 Server : 13: 127.0.0.1 - /5240/DX11/FD/Stats.xml
20:35:28.422366: Message: 5652 Server : 14: 127.0.0.1 - /5240/DX11/FC?ReplayLoop=False


[b]Console output [/b]

Unhandled Exception: System.AccessViolationException: Attempted to read or write protected memory
at SlimDX.DXGI.SwapChain.Present(Int32 syncInterval, PresentFlags flags)
at BF.SDXForm.Present()
in C:Users\...UI.cs:line 214

at WH.WHMain.<Main>b__0()
in C:Users\...WHMain.cs:line 51

at SlimDX.Windows.MessagePump.IdleHandler.OnIdle(Object sender, EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Application.ThreadContext.SystemWindows.Forms.UnsafeNativeMethods.IMsoComponent.FDoIdle(Int32 grfidlef)
at System.Windows.Forms.Applicaiton.ComponentManager.System.Windows.Forms.UnsafeNativeMethods.IMsoComponentManager... ...FPushMessageLoop(IntPtr dwComponentID,Int32 reason, Int32 pvLoopData)
at System.Windows.Forms.Application.ThreadContext.RunMessageLoopInner(Int32 reason, ApplicationContext context)
at System.Windows.Forms.Application.ThreadContext.RunMessageLoop(Int32 reason, ApplicationContext context)
at System.Windows.Forms.Application.Run(Form mainForm)
at SlimdDX.Windows.MessagePump.Run(Form form, MainLoop mainLoop)
at BF.SDXForm.MainLoop(MainLoop mainLoop)
in C:Users\...SDXForm.cs: line159

at Framework.UserInterface.MainLoop(MainLoop)
in C:\Users\...UserInterface.cs:line 58

at WH.WHMain.Main()
in C:\Users\...WHMain.cs:line 46

Message: 5652 Server : 14:127.0.0.1 - /5240/DX11/FC?ReplayLoop=False

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Well I've been looking at VS2012 .. It's very stark at first to look at, but it's certainly fresh ! And to my great surprise, It has captured a frame from my SlimDX app !!! I almost can't believe it but it's true [img]http://public.gamedev.net//public/style_emoticons/default/biggrin.png[/img] It's not working perfectly yet, however the following features in the graphics debugger are working :

frame capture
event call stack (im not sure if this is fully functional)
graphics object table
inspection of all graphics objects ( ie blend state, rasterizer state, textures, layouts, raw vertex data etc )

And the following features don't work for me right now :

event list
pixel history
pipeline stages

So, not quite there, but it's a good start. Oh and I like the hlsl syntax hilighting. It will just make it that little bit easier. Edited by Gavin Williams

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  

  • Announcements

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      628395
    • Total Posts
      2982433
  • Similar Content

    • By KarimIO
      Hey guys,
      I'm trying to work on adding transparent objects to my deferred-rendered scene. The only issue is the z-buffer. As far as I know, the standard way to handle this is copying the buffer. In OpenGL, I can just blit it. What's the alternative for DirectX? And are there any alternatives to copying the buffer?
      Thanks in advance!
    • By joeblack
      Hi,
      im reading about specular aliasing because of mip maps, as far as i understood it, you need to compute fetched normal lenght and detect now its changed from unit length. I’m currently using BC5 normal maps, so i reconstruct z in shader and therefore my normals are normalized. Can i still somehow use antialiasing or its not needed? Thanks.
    • By 51mon
      I want to change the sampling behaviour to SampleLevel(coord, ddx(coord.y).xx, ddy(coord.y).xx). I was just wondering if it's possible without explicit shader code, e.g. with some flags or so?
    • By GalacticCrew
      Hello,
      I want to improve the performance of my game (engine) and some of your helped me to make a GPU Profiler. After creating the GPU Profiler, I started to measure the time my GPU needs per frame. I refined my GPU time measurements to find my bottleneck.
      Searching the bottleneck
      Rendering a small scene in an Idle state takes around 15.38 ms per frame. 13.54 ms (88.04%) are spent while rendering the scene, 1.57 ms (10.22%) are spent during the SwapChain.Present call (no VSync!) and the rest is spent on other tasks like rendering the UI. I further investigated the scene rendering, since it takes über 88% of my GPU frame rendering time.
      When rendering my scene, most of the time (80.97%) is spent rendering my models. The rest is spent to render the background/skybox, updating animation data, updating pixel shader constant buffer, etc. It wasn't really suprising that most of the time is spent for my models, so I further refined my measurements to find the actual bottleneck.
      In my example scene, I have five animated NPCs. When rendering these NPCs, most actions are almost for free. Setting the proper shaders in the input layout (0.11%), updating vertex shader constant buffers (0.32%), setting textures (0.24%) and setting vertex and index buffers (0.28%). However, the rest of the GPU time (99.05% !!) is spent in two function calls: DrawIndexed and DrawIndexedInstance.
      I searched this forum and the web for other articles and threads about these functions, but I haven't found a lot of useful information. I use SharpDX and .NET Framework 4.5 to develop my game (engine). The developer of SharpDX said, that "The method DrawIndexed in SharpDX is a direct call to DirectX" (Source). DirectX 11 is widely used and SharpDX is "only" a wrapper for DirectX functions, I assume the problem is in my code.
      How I render my scene
      When rendering my scene, I render one model after another. Each model has one or more parts and one or more positions. For example, a human model has parts like head, hands, legs, torso, etc. and may be placed in different locations (on the couch, on a street, ...). For static elements like furniture, houses, etc. I use instancing, because the positions never change at run-time. Dynamic models like humans and monster don't use instancing, because positions change over time.
      When rendering a model, I use this work-flow:
      Set vertex and pixel shaders, if they need to be updated (e.g. PBR shaders, simple shader, depth info shaders, ...) Set animation data as constant buffer in the vertex shader, if the model is animated Set generic vertex shader constant buffer (world matrix, etc.) Render all parts of the model. For each part: Set diffuse, normal, specular and emissive texture shader views Set vertex buffer Set index buffer Call DrawIndexedInstanced for instanced models and DrawIndexed models What's the problem
      After my GPU profiling, I know that over 99% of the rendering time for a single model is spent in the DrawIndexedInstanced and DrawIndexed function calls. But why do they take so long? Do I have to try to optimize my vertex or pixel shaders? I do not use other types of shaders at the moment. "Le Comte du Merde-fou" suggested in this post to merge regions of vertices to larger vertex buffers to reduce the number of Draw calls. While this makes sense to me, it does not explain why rendering my five (!) animated models takes that much GPU time. To make sure I don't analyse something I wrong, I made sure to not use the D3D11_CREATE_DEVICE_DEBUG flag and to run as Release version in Visual Studio as suggested by Hodgman in this forum thread.
      My engine does its job. Multi-texturing, animation, soft shadowing, instancing, etc. are all implemented, but I need to reduce the GPU load for performance reasons. Each frame takes less than 3ms CPU time by the way. So the problem is on the GPU side, I believe.
    • By noodleBowl
      I was wondering if someone could explain this to me
      I'm working on using the windows WIC apis to load in textures for DirectX 11. I see that sometimes the WIC Pixel Formats do not directly match a DXGI Format that is used in DirectX. I see that in cases like this the original WIC Pixel Format is converted into a WIC Pixel Format that does directly match a DXGI Format. And doing this conversion is easy, but I do not understand the reason behind 2 of the WIC Pixel Formats that are converted based on Microsoft's guide
      I was wondering if someone could tell me why Microsoft's guide on this topic says that GUID_WICPixelFormat40bppCMYKAlpha should be converted into GUID_WICPixelFormat64bppRGBA and why GUID_WICPixelFormat80bppCMYKAlpha should be converted into GUID_WICPixelFormat64bppRGBA
      In one case I would think that: 
      GUID_WICPixelFormat40bppCMYKAlpha would convert to GUID_WICPixelFormat32bppRGBA and that GUID_WICPixelFormat80bppCMYKAlpha would convert to GUID_WICPixelFormat64bppRGBA, because the black channel (k) values would get readded / "swallowed" into into the CMY channels
      In the second case I would think that:
      GUID_WICPixelFormat40bppCMYKAlpha would convert to GUID_WICPixelFormat64bppRGBA and that GUID_WICPixelFormat80bppCMYKAlpha would convert to GUID_WICPixelFormat128bppRGBA, because the black channel (k) bits would get redistributed amongst the remaining 4 channels (CYMA) and those "new bits" added to those channels would fit in the GUID_WICPixelFormat64bppRGBA and GUID_WICPixelFormat128bppRGBA formats. But also seeing as there is no GUID_WICPixelFormat128bppRGBA format this case is kind of null and void
      I basically do not understand why Microsoft says GUID_WICPixelFormat40bppCMYKAlpha and GUID_WICPixelFormat80bppCMYKAlpha should convert to GUID_WICPixelFormat64bppRGBA in the end
       
  • Popular Now