Sign in to follow this  
Gavin Williams

DX11 Debugging SlimDX using PIX, PerfStudio and VS2012

Recommended Posts

Gavin Williams    986
I have had some success with using PIX to debug SlimDX (and that only very recently) but I haven't managed to get PerfStudio (2.9) to work yet. Has anyone had success with that tool ? It seems to connect to some extent, I can even see my shader in the servers ShaderCache folder. But when i pause in GPUPerfClient it tries to connect and fails, appearing to time-out. The log file is below as well as the console output. I have read in another forum post that at least for nvidia tools, it can help to use certain methods of creating the device or swap-chain. Has anyone been able to use PerfStudio and under what conditions ?

On a related note, I've noticed that VS2012 has reached RC, I'm thinking of downloading it and taking a look (for the purposes of trying the built in graphics tools) I downloaded the Developer Preview and made the mistake of installing it on my main computer, it screwed up my environment a bit and I ultimately reinstalled Windows. But I figure RC is probably fixed up enough to not cause the same problems. Can anyone confirm this ? I read that Mike P. has tried VS2012 without success (in using the gfx debugger) so Im not likely to do better but I'm still curious. And again on that point, has anyone had success using VS2012 with managed code / SlimDX ?

Any discussion or assistance is much appreciated

[b]PerfStudio log :[/b]

---------------BEGIN------------------
App : C:\Users\Gavin\Documents\Visual Studio 2010\Projects\WH\WH\bin\Debug\WH.exe
PID: 5240
Time: 2012-Jul-09 20:33:38
20:33:51.781232: Message: 5652 Server : 0: 127.0.0.1 - /Process.xml
20:33:52.261233: Message: 5652 Server : 1: 127.0.0.1 - /Process.xml
20:33:52.761233: Message: 5652 Server : 2: 127.0.0.1 - /Process.xml
20:33:53.281234: Message: 5652 Server : 3: 127.0.0.1 - /Process.xml
20:33:53.621235: Message: 5652 Server : 4: 127.0.0.1 - /5240/DX11/ShowStack
20:33:53.661235: Message: 5652 Server : 5: 127.0.0.1 - /5240/DX11/PushLayer=TimeControl
20:33:53.681235: Message: 5652 Server : 6: 127.0.0.1 - /5240/DX11/TC/Settings.xml
20:33:59.521243: Message: 5652 Server : 7: 127.0.0.1 - /5240/DX11/PushLayer=FrameCapture
20:33:59.591243: Message: 5652 Server : 8: 127.0.0.1 - /5240/DX11/TC?realpause=True
20:33:59.601243: Message: 5652 Server : 9: 127.0.0.1 - /5240/DX11/TC?Speed=0
20:33:59.611243: Message: 5652 Server : 10: 127.0.0.1 - /5240/DX11/FC?HandleMapsOnCPU=False
20:33:59.631243: Message: 5652 Server : 11: 127.0.0.1 - /5240/DX11/FC/Capture?Stream=0
---------------BEGIN------------------
App : C:\Users\Gavin\Documents\Visual Studio 2010\Projects\WH\WH\bin\Debug\WH.exe
PID: 5240
Time: 2012-Jul-09 20:33:59
20:35:07.210337: Message: 5652 Server : 12: 127.0.0.1 - /5240/DX11/PushLayer=FrameDebugger
20:35:08.350338: Assert: 5240 : Instance's vtable not managed!
20:35:08.350338: Message: 5652 Server : 13: 127.0.0.1 - /5240/DX11/FD/Stats.xml
20:35:28.422366: Message: 5652 Server : 14: 127.0.0.1 - /5240/DX11/FC?ReplayLoop=False


[b]Console output [/b]

Unhandled Exception: System.AccessViolationException: Attempted to read or write protected memory
at SlimDX.DXGI.SwapChain.Present(Int32 syncInterval, PresentFlags flags)
at BF.SDXForm.Present()
in C:Users\...UI.cs:line 214

at WH.WHMain.<Main>b__0()
in C:Users\...WHMain.cs:line 51

at SlimDX.Windows.MessagePump.IdleHandler.OnIdle(Object sender, EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Application.ThreadContext.SystemWindows.Forms.UnsafeNativeMethods.IMsoComponent.FDoIdle(Int32 grfidlef)
at System.Windows.Forms.Applicaiton.ComponentManager.System.Windows.Forms.UnsafeNativeMethods.IMsoComponentManager... ...FPushMessageLoop(IntPtr dwComponentID,Int32 reason, Int32 pvLoopData)
at System.Windows.Forms.Application.ThreadContext.RunMessageLoopInner(Int32 reason, ApplicationContext context)
at System.Windows.Forms.Application.ThreadContext.RunMessageLoop(Int32 reason, ApplicationContext context)
at System.Windows.Forms.Application.Run(Form mainForm)
at SlimdDX.Windows.MessagePump.Run(Form form, MainLoop mainLoop)
at BF.SDXForm.MainLoop(MainLoop mainLoop)
in C:Users\...SDXForm.cs: line159

at Framework.UserInterface.MainLoop(MainLoop)
in C:\Users\...UserInterface.cs:line 58

at WH.WHMain.Main()
in C:\Users\...WHMain.cs:line 46

Message: 5652 Server : 14:127.0.0.1 - /5240/DX11/FC?ReplayLoop=False

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Gavin Williams    986
Well I've been looking at VS2012 .. It's very stark at first to look at, but it's certainly fresh ! And to my great surprise, It has captured a frame from my SlimDX app !!! I almost can't believe it but it's true [img]http://public.gamedev.net//public/style_emoticons/default/biggrin.png[/img] It's not working perfectly yet, however the following features in the graphics debugger are working :

frame capture
event call stack (im not sure if this is fully functional)
graphics object table
inspection of all graphics objects ( ie blend state, rasterizer state, textures, layouts, raw vertex data etc )

And the following features don't work for me right now :

event list
pixel history
pipeline stages

So, not quite there, but it's a good start. Oh and I like the hlsl syntax hilighting. It will just make it that little bit easier. Edited by Gavin Williams

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

Sign in to follow this  

  • Similar Content

    • By RubenRS
      How do i open an image to use it as Texture2D information without D3DX11CreateShaderResourceViewFromFile? And how it works for different formats like (JPG, PNG, BMP, DDS,  etc.)?
      I have an (512 x 512) image with font letters, also i have the position and texcoord of every letter. The main idea is that i want to obtain the image pixel info, use the position and texcoords to create a new texture with one letter and render it. Or am I wrong in something?
    • By thmfrnk
      Hey,
      I found a very interesting blog post here: https://bartwronski.com/2017/04/13/cull-that-cone/
      However, I didn't really got how to use his "TestConeVsSphere" test in 3D (last piece of code on his post). I have the frustumCorners of a 2D Tile cell in ViewSpace and my 3D Cone Origin and Direction, so where to place the "testSphere"? I thought about to also move the Cone into viewspace and put the sphere to the Center of the Cell with the radius of half-cellsize, however what about depth? A sphere does not have inf depth?
      I am missing anything? Any Ideas?
      Thx, Thomas
    • By Modymek
      hi all
      I want to enable and disable shader in MPCH Media player Classic
      the MPCH have shader option using HLSL shaders
      I want the shader to read each file extension before it plays the file
      so if the video file name is video.GR.Mp4 it will play it in Grayscale shader 
      if it is not and standard file name Video.Mp4 without GR. unique extension so it plays standard without shader or end the shader
      here is the shader I have for grayscale
      // $MinimumShaderProfile: ps_2_0
      sampler s0 : register(s0);
      float4 main(float2 tex : TEXCOORD0) : COLOR {
          float c0 = dot(tex2D(s0, tex), float4(0.299, 0.587, 0.114, 0));
          return c0;
      }
       
      I want to add if or block stantement or bloean to detect file name before it call the shader in order to go to the procedure or disable it or goto end direct without it
       
      any thoughts or help
    • By noodleBowl
      I've gotten to part in my DirectX 11 project where I need to pass the MVP matrices to my vertex shader. And I'm a little lost when it comes to the use of the constant buffer with the vertex shader
      I understand I need to set up the constant buffer just like any other buffer:
      1. Create a buffer description with the D3D11_BIND_CONSTANT_BUFFER flag 2. Map my matrix data into the constant buffer 3. Use VSSetConstantBuffers to actually use the buffer But I get lost at the VertexShader part, how does my vertex shader know to use this constant buffer when we get to the shader side of things
      In the example I'm following I see they have this as their vertex shader, but I don't understand how the shader knows to use the MatrixBuffer cbuffer. They just use the members directly. What if there was multiple cbuffer declarations like the Microsoft documentation says you could have?
      //Inside vertex shader cbuffer MatrixBuffer { matrix worldMatrix; matrix viewMatrix; matrix projectionMatrix; }; struct VertexInputType { float4 position : POSITION; float4 color : COLOR; }; struct PixelInputType { float4 position : SV_POSITION; float4 color : COLOR; }; PixelInputType ColorVertexShader(VertexInputType input) { PixelInputType output; // Change the position vector to be 4 units for proper matrix calculations. input.position.w = 1.0f; // Calculate the position of the vertex against the world, view, and projection matrices. output.position = mul(input.position, worldMatrix); output.position = mul(output.position, viewMatrix); output.position = mul(output.position, projectionMatrix); // Store the input color for the pixel shader to use. output.color = input.color; return output; }  
    • By gomidas
      I am trying to add normal map to my project I have an example of a cube: 
      I have normal in my shader I think. Then I set shader resource view for texture (NOT BUMP)
                  device.ImmediateContext.PixelShader.SetShaderResource(0, textureView);             device.ImmediateContext.Draw(VerticesCount,0); What should I do to set my normal map or how it is done in dx11 generally example c++?
  • Popular Now