• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Poh Yong Xiang

Help in Choice of 2D Game Engine for a game like Little Fighter 2...

This topic is 2339 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am a total Newbie in Game Programming but have been programming in a few languages due to school matters.

J2ME
C#(Longest Period of Practice)
Python
C Programming

I know that there are all sorts of 2d engine so i was wondering which is easier to start with.

I plan to make a left to right RPG game where we have a boss at the end of the path..(Imagine Diablo in Little Fighter Interface)
So i believe i need collision programming(Sorry not sure what is the right term) and maybe some physics for jumping.

Of course i plan to do just a player vs 1 AI to start the project before i go in depth to the above setting.

EDIT: Due to Riverreal's suggestions, i shall be listing what i planned to do overall in detailed.
- RPG-like(D3 or MMORPG type of Boss char in the ending of a stage)
- LF2 Interface
- 1 vs All Game Play
- 2 or more Coop Play
- Different Weapon System
- No Magic but Sword Skills
- Button combination Special Move as you see in Little Fighter 2
- Sword Negating Effects(My guess is related to collision timing or stuff) <-- Might need your advices...
- Combo System?
- AI for Units or Boss
- Jumping Action
- Special Moves Effects before action applies.(Like some animation before the move is executed,,, lol)

As i am still a newbie towards programming games, so the above might sound stupid...

Can anyone give suggestions?

Thank you very much...

PS: Currently using the XNA studio tutorial from microsoft to get the feel of creating a game by following the instructions..
Hope this method is well received by you pros.... Edited by Yxpoh

Advertisement
I think XNA is a good "tool" to start with, but it depends... What is your goal?