Am I just setting myself up for failure?

Started by
15 comments, last by Tom Sloper 11 years, 9 months ago
Hey GameDev Community,

I've been in a constant battle with myself as to whether or not I should even bother applying for graduate programs in CS (for Fall '13). I'll give a few reasons that will make it easy for all of you to understand why.

• I graduated with a BA in Psychology in 2011, not CS, Math or Engineering.
  • I only really began programming Spring 2011 (besides the intro C++ class I took somewhere during my undergrad).
  • I'm giving myself a year to complete as many of the prerequisite courses for those programs as I can at a local community college.

I have an overwhelming amount of catching-up to do, and I'm supposed to compete with a huge number of other students that have been in CS for 4+ years. It seemed doable back in December when I decided that Psych research was not my thing (I had no desire to go into therapy or counseling either), but the closer it gets to grad app season, the less plausible it seems. I have no problem dedicating myself to learning. I work full-time in a research lab and learn programming and other CS-related things in my free time. I literally read about programming and game engines in bed before I go to sleep (when I began noticing 6 months ago this I realized that maybe I was going on the wrong career path).
I think I have a chance of getting in the door eventually, I'm just doubting if I even have a chance for the following Fall. Time, knowledge, and experience are against me on this one...Any thoughts? Be honest. If anyone has been in a similar situation before, please share your experiences!

There are a few specific things that I am worried about:

• Is taking CS classes at a community college sufficient enough? Usually schools seem to require on their admissions page a background in courses that are considered upper division CS courses at their campus, or it's some lower division some upper division.