Complete beginner

Started by
14 comments, last by DZee 11 years, 9 months ago
I'm a complete beginner at programming, I tried to teach myself C++ a while ago and it all went downhill. I struggled a lot with it and was really put off, but I've always regretted giving up.

I made a topic a while ago about dyscalculus and programming and many people here posted about how they'd dealt with it so I've decided I'm going to work on it as well, but I don't know a good place to start.

What languages would you suggest for a total beginner? And what books?

Because I'm interested in Game Development is it advised I focus on that area more so? Or just programming in general?

Thanks for your time and help!
Advertisement
Just learn the damn C++ language if you want to focus on game development. It is not actually that hard. Think of pointers as pointing with your finger at person who is pointing at another person who has 303 written on his forehead. Now have two dimensional pointer and you want to know what the variable on the third persons forehead is. You point at the one who points the variable and ask him could you get the number from his forehead. The one you point with your finger points at the one who has the 303 written on his forehead and asks him what is the number on your forehead he replies to the second pointer and the second pointer replies to you 303.

int ** you;
int * yourfriend;
int hisfriend = 303;

// lets point your finger at your friend
you = &yourfriend;

// Now your friend points at his friend
yourfriend = &hisfriend;

// Now lets see where your finger is
std::cout << &you << std::endl;

// Now lets see what we are pointing.
std::cout << *you << std::endl;

// Now we want to know what number he has written on his forehead so we want to know what your friend is pointing.
std::cout << **you << std::endl;