Sign in to follow this  

Mac OS X Game Engine "OpenGL"

This topic is 1966 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello GameDev community,

My name is Kevin and I'm currently studying game design at Full Sail University. We are still early in our courses only about 4 months in. The reason I come here today is that I want to make a game engine using C++ that runs native in Mac OS X using OpenGL API's and create games using the same engine to port the games to all platforms if possible similar to Unity. I know it requires a lot of time and dedication but I'm willing to put in the work if someone could point me in the right direction or provide me with great resources to work with. I do want to let you all know what kind of computer I'm working on of course.

Macbook Pro 15" (Late 2011)
Intel Core i7 2.4 GHz Quad (Sandy Bridge)
8GB 1333MHz Memory
ATI Radeon HD 6770M
Mac OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion GM

I also have...

Macbook Pro 15" (Mid 2012)
Intel Core i7 2.6 GHz Quad (Ivy Bridge)
8GB Memory
Nvidia GeForce GT 650M
Mac OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion GM

I have a few projects already planned for development which will mainly focus on FPS and RPG elements. The key thing to me making this engine is that I want to be able to create a game from the ground up and turn around and release it on multiple platforms such as Windows and Linux. I'm a huge indie game development fan hence the reason I joined this school and community. You can reach me at [url="http://www.twitter.com/87kevo"]http://www.twitter.com/87kevo[/url] for immediate responses if you would like to contact me. Any useful information other then "Hey start somewhere else because this is tough", would be awesome. I'm glad to be part of a great community and can't wait to show you guys what I'm currently working on in the Unity engine soon.

Thanks,
Kevin Edited by Kevo