Sign in to follow this  
Basse85

Help with compiling in VC++ Express

I've been programming in C# for a few years now and I really love it.
Now I will be learning c++ in school.
I'm used to VC# Express so I downloaded VC++ Express (do you have any other suggestions on a IDE?) and bought Starting out with c++ early objects 7e to get comfortable with the language and IDE, but I have already encountered problems. Even the simplest code won't compile, so I ask you if there is some settings or something else I'm missing.

I'm trying to do a simple console application that will output some text.

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
cout << "Text";

return 0;
}

The error says: "Error 2 error C1010: unexpected end of file while looking for precompiled header. Did you forget to add '#include "StdAfx.h"' to your source?"

If I do inlcude StdAfx.h I get: "Error 2 error C2065: 'cout' : undeclared identifier"

None of the code in the book compile. Please help.

Another question, how do I activate intellisense in VC++ Express 2010?

EDIT: Removed the code block Edited by Basse85

[quote name='Basse85' timestamp='1343752816' post='4964910']The error says: "Error 2 error C1010: unexpected end of file while looking for precompiled header. Did you forget to add '#include "StdAfx.h"' to your source?"[/quote]

When creating a C++ project in Visual Studio, select "Create emtpy project" and uncheck "create precompiled headers". Otherwise, go to your project properties (alt+f7), and navigate to C/C++ -> Precompiled headers, and set "Use precompiled headers" to "do not use".

[quote name='fastcall22' timestamp='1343754108' post='4964914']
[quote name='Basse85' timestamp='1343752816' post='4964910']The error says: "Error 2 error C1010: unexpected end of file while looking for precompiled header. Did you forget to add '#include "StdAfx.h"' to your source?"[/quote]