Sign in to follow this  

Distance over Time

This topic is 1963 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

i am currently trying to model a projectile in Physx. I would like a force to be applied to this projectile every ten seconds. I have never used time functions before. I currently have access to time using
QueryPerformanceFrequency(&freq);
QueryPerformanceCounter(&previousTime);

and with this i get the elapsed time. but i am not sure how to create a ten second counter. something that will just return tru when the elapsed time reaches ten seconds.

I know this is simple but for some reason my mind is stumped. i just need some one to potentially explain how this works.

thanks [img]http://public.gamedev.net//public/style_emoticons/default/sad.png[/img] Edited by greenzone

[code]
// simplified pseudocode
class Timer
{
public:
Timer(int duration)
{
this.duration = duration;
this.start = GetCurrentTime(); // replace GetCurrentTime() with whatever the right function is for your target API
}

void restart()
{
this.start = GetCurrentTime();
}

bool finished()
{
return GetCurrentTime() >= this.start + this.duration;
}

private:
int start, duration;
};
[/code]

Of course, you're free to ask questions, but I tried to make it uber simple and hopefully self explanatory.

[quote name='greenzone' timestamp='1343956926' post='4965702']
i am currently trying to model a projectile in Physx. I would like a force to be applied to this projectile every ten seconds. I have never used time functions before. I currently have access to time using
QueryPerformanceFrequency(&freq);
QueryPerformanceCounter(&previousTime);

and with this i get the elapsed time. but i am not sure how to create a ten second counter. something that will just return tru when the elapsed time reaches ten seconds.