Sign in to follow this  

Simple vertex shader

This topic is 1947 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello,

I'm a newbie to vertex shaders. I'm just trying to get my feet wet. I coded the following simple vertex shader:

[source lang="java"]
const GLchar *shadersrc[] = {
"void main()\n",
"{\n",
"gl_Position = gl_ModelViewProjectionMatrix * gl_Vertex;\n",
"}"
};[/source]

I understand that gl_ModelViewProjectionMatrix may be deprecated, but I assume that if it's not working then the above code won't compile - which is not the case. So I assume that all's well.

I'm compiling/linking/using the shader with the following simple code:

[source lang="java"]
nos = sizeof(shadersrc)/sizeof(char*);
shad = glCreateShader (GL_VERTEX_SHADER);
glShaderSource (shad,nos,shadersrc,NULL);
glCompileShader (shad);
glGetShaderiv (shad,GL_COMPILE_STATUS,&iflg);
if(iflg == GL_TRUE) {
printf("Shader successfully compiled\n");
} else {
printf("Shader compilation failed\n");
return;
}
prog = glCreateProgram();
glAttachShader (prog,shad);
glLinkProgram (prog);
glUseProgram (prog);[/source]
I call glGetError() at this point and I get no error.

My understanding is that the above vertex shader should not change anything. However, if I use the above code nothing gets displayed.

Does anybody have a clue to what may be going on?

Thanks.

Do you have a pixel shader to go with that vertex shader?

Edit: Well, I guess you don't have to have one. From the docs of glLinkProgram - "If program contains shader objects of type GL_VERTEX_SHADER but does not contain shader objects of type GL_FRAGMENT_SHADER, the vertex shader will be linked against the implicit interface for fixed functionality fragment processing." Edited by web383

Well, I added the following code:

[source lang="java"] glGetShaderiv (shad,GL_LINK_STATUS,&iflg);
if(iflg == GL_TRUE) {