Sign in to follow this  

Independent resolution

This topic is 1948 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi,

I am developing a game with XNA and I am a little desperate with resolutions. For now I have only implemented the main menu but I want to get a game that is independent of the resolution. As I am a beginner, I haven't taken into account the resolution so far. When I started to change the resolution, began my real headache.

The background image that I use has a 1920x1080 resolution, so it has an aspect ratio 16:9 (panoramic). The initial resolution was 800x600, so the background image looks stretched. The same happens with resolutions with aspect ratio 4:3 (640x480, 1024x768...).

Before post in this forum, I search information on Internet and I find this solution: [url="http://www.david-amador.com/2010/03/xna-2d-independent-resolution-rendering/"]http://www.david-amador.com/2010/03/xna-2d-independent-resolution-rendering/[/url] (and similar in other pages). The solution offered by the site seems perfect to me at first because I wasn't thinking of using two resolutions (one internal for drawing and one that correspond to the size of the windows).

However I has been observing some problems:

- The first thing is the fullscreen mode. When I turns the game in fullscreen mode and its resolution is lower than the OS's resolution, the game doesn't stretch the resolution to fill the entire screen. This makes that the game looks at the center of the screen but appears black border on both sides of the screen.

[center][img]http://s9.postimage.org/w1otdy0pr/Foro1.png[/img][/center]