When am I qualified?

Started by
13 comments, last by slayemin 11 years, 7 months ago
I'm a self taught programmer, with a BS in 3d art and animation. I have a collection of flash games I've built, and I've spent the last year and a half learning c++, and opengl.

But, since I learned everything I know about programming on my own, I have no idea when I am qualified enough to realistically apply for jobs. I've picked up as much as I can on my own, about software development, coding standards, and such, but since I have minimal real world team development experience, its hard to say where I stand as far as my own skill level.

My target companies, would be small to mid range studios. Larger studios would be nice, but I think that might be a bit unrealistic. My question is, what are companies looking for in a portfolio, that displays competence from a self taught programmer? At what point is it a good idea to start sending out resumes and demo reels and the like?
Advertisement
I'll answer with a question:
How do you plan to know if you're on par with industry professionnals?

Sure we could sit and talk about it, but that would be highly subjective.
I'm assuming you know how to make classes in AS3? But that won't tell me if you comment your code sufficiently and organise it efficiently.

My advice is twofold:
- Find some way (preferably someone) that can tell you whether you've reached that level or not.
- Apply for a job anyway. Worse case, you don't get the job. Middle case, you don't get the job but they tell you why, and you can focus on that. Best case, they give you a chance and you're in for a wild ride: entry-level positions are a whole new school of their own.

Good luck.
Get a job. If you don't get fired in the first couple of months, you're probably qualified for that particular job. There really aren't any hard and fast rules for this sort of thing.

Middle case, you don't get the job but they tell you why, and you can focus on that.