Torque 3d! is it worth the time and money for an MMO?

Started by
30 comments, last by 6677 11 years, 7 months ago
Hello people, this might be interesting bringing up this engine ive herd such bad remarks about the engine but at the same time good alot of the bad ones coming from the bug ridden early versions that seem to have cleaned up a bit in 1.2 release of torque 3d anyways i was wondering if its worth the time and money learning and buying for deving an mmo project upon. please it would be nice if those replying on the topic to be ones who have used version 1.2 and not the bug ridden versions of course next what would the cost and be for renting game servers and what do you think i would need to host my own as in the machine/machines it self and which would be cheaper and better, as for the next question which will definitely say im a total noob is that can a two man dev team handle a mid sized mmo im the one dealing with the looks and my pal does server work true hes already told me some stuff about what well need but id like to hear from the community aswell as for me im comming from unity and udk in hope that this engine will be well worth it soo what do you guys think? it torque 1.2 worth buying learning and overall good enough to spend the next 2years atleast deving an mmo on? hopefully i can get some good answers also feel free to say anything else about torque for im very willing to hear all that is there to be said about it thx in advance guys
Advertisement
Is torque worth $100? Yes, as in: you couldn't replicate it in $100 worth of programming time.
Is it worth you buying it? That depends on the next question.
Can 2 guys make an average MMO in 2 years? No. Look at the credits listing for other average MMOs and ask yourselves if you're more talented and experienced that all of those people combined.