• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
igna92ts

about UDK

This topic is 2298 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am learning c++ at college and im loving it so far i also decided to learn directx.
I wanted to start learning to make a game with a friend and I was thinking of making it with UDK but my question is; will I have any use for c++/directx knowledge in a UDK project ??

PS: I am a total noob to game development so I don't know if this is a stupid question but I want to know before learning it if there is a way to "integrate" this 2 thingsin one project.

PS2: I don't care your opinion if you think some of this is too hard for a begginer or something, this is what I want to learn

Advertisement
The current UDK version uses Unreal Script for the logic behind your game.
It looks like a mix of C++/Java/C# language.
With UDK you'r also able to use the Kismet editor, which is like a drag and drop editor for the game logic.

If you want to learn DirectX then I recommend you not to use UDK because you won't see any useable code. The better start would be a Book or some online Tutorials on how to start out with DirectX.

You also get alot more of an understanding whats behind DirectX and you improve your Programming skills alot more when starting with the Basics.

Best Regards

C++ knowledge will map into UDK, it uses its own language but the structure of it is based off of C I think so you should be fine. Directx won't help, UDK sticks the graphics code under multiple layers of abstraction, something like loading a 3d model and displaying it on screen would have taken a fair bit of code in C++ and directX but in UDK gets abstracted to just a handful of lines, it does the hard work for you.