• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
noatom

FXMVECTOR,is this correct?

This topic is 2124 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

So I just started learning Dx 11 and getting used to the new xna math functions and all that stuff.

So,the book gives me some rules:
1.Use XMVECTOR for local and global variables
2.Use XMFLOAT2,XMFLOAT3 and XMFLOAT4 for class data members
3.Use loading functions to convert from XMFLOAT* to XMVECTOR before doing calculations.
4.Do calculations with XMVECTOR instances
5.Use storage functions to convert from XMVECTOR to XMFLOAT*

Later the book gives a demo.But it uses the cout << to output data,so it needs to overload the << operator.

[source lang="cpp"]ostream& operator<<(ostream& os, FXMVECTOR v)
{
XMFLOAT4 dest;
XMStoreFloat4(&dest, v);

os << "(" << dest.x << ", " << dest.y << ", " << dest.z << ", " << dest.w << ")";
return os;
}[/source]

FXMVECTOR is defined as an XMVECTOR so why do we need to use an XMFLOAT4 in order to show the data?the first rule says use XMVECTOR for local and global variables.
We get FXMVECTOR as an argument.

So,do we use XMFLOAT to show the data because the operator<< is part of a class?

Advertisement
It seems like you're not too familiar with SIMD, so I'd recommend reading about it and the general best practices and you will begin to make sense of where these rules come from. There is a good article on Gamasutra that looks into the performance of different libs, including XNAMath or whatever they call it now.

To fully explain what's going on would require understanding on SIMD, LHS, alignment, and a few other things. So I will just lie and tell you this: