• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
nickme

unity3d:how to control a 360 gamepad

This topic is 2124 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

hi,
i am a beginner learning unity.

i just finished chapter 6 of "Unity 3 Game Development Hotshot." and i just got a 360 gamepad controller. in the book, the player can aims and then shoot a rocket launcher. i found out which joystick to use and pressed 'A' to fire. but how to program so that i don't have to press 'E' on my keyboard to aim?

also, i still have to use my mouse to control the crosshair. can i use one of joystick on my controller? how do i program unity to map the joystick on my controller? i looked at mouseLook_JS.js, and have no idea how to insert codes to get the input from one of my joystick on the controller. by default, i can move the player, forward/backward/left and right and i can fire while holding 'E' key of my keyboard.

i also dont understand what is Dpad and 5th or 6th Axis?

is there a way to read the inputs in the controller and print out the codes in unity?

any help will be appreciated. Edited by nickme

Advertisement
hi

i finally realized that i have to setup the input manager. but in my mouseLook_JS.js, how do i know which input to update transform.localEulerAngles? in my input manager, i added 2 more elements, Mouse1 X and Mouse1 Y. and have their types set to Joystick axis. and their Axis set to 6th Axis and 7th Axis. but how do i know which input to assign to localEulerAngles?

The 6th and 7th axes doesn't exist on a 360 gamepad. It has 6 axes numbered from 0 (ie 0 to 5, not 1 to 6)

DPad is literally the direction pad, they are not recognised as actual buttons and are instead classed as a POV hat (which unity calls a DPad, makes more sense on xbox to call it that anyway).