Sign in to follow this  
Silgen

Not getting anywhere - Advice needed

Hello there. I am a full time student, hoping to study computer science at university in a year's time. I have a reasonable knowledge of C++ and SFML, with a little bit of python on the side.

As the title suggests - I am struggling at the moment to progress with my game programming. I have made some half-assed attempts at simple games like pong and noughts and crosses - as well as partial games - such as a sidescrolling tile engine.

I really enjoy programming - but for some reason, I struggle to find the motivation to plan, continue and finish a project.

It is extremely frustrating for me to realise that by this point I could have produced multiple games, and be progressing at a much faster rate. Personally I feel that the problem is in the planning stage, as being so inexperienced - I often overlook things that cause major problems later on in the development. I also have a tendancy to bite off more than I can chew.

Does anyone have any advice that they could give me?
Should I make my life easier by switching to a language like C#? (I'm not saying I don't understand C++ - but it would remove a level of complexity.)

i should probably be writing a longer post, since there are alot of things that need to be said here, but others will likely say it better than me
there's one thing though:
starting a game, or with an idea gives you _some_, somethings nothing new, in knowledge
finishing a project = progress
i spent 5 years writing an IRCd of all things... well i learned ALOT of things over the years, but the last year i felt like I KNEW what i was doing
it's a really good feeling! you can't miss it, and you can't go without it
doing what i did, i realize i just have to finish things :)

This question is all about planning, and the one thing I thought when reading this post was "What is the end-goal?".