Sign in to follow this  
Dekowta

OpenGL Slow Sprite Batch Rendering

Dekowta    269
Hi,

I'm fairly new to OpenGL but have been working on it for a little while now.

I'm mainly working on a 2D renderer which uses the more up to date style of OpenGL rather than Immediate mode.

I've managed to create a sprite batching system however I'm not really getting the results that I would expect. I'm roughly getting around 30fps when rendering 5,000 of the same sprite object and around 15fps when rendering 10,000

At the moment the way it works is as followed

- Sprite batch is created which creates the shader, indicies for MultiDrawArrays, 2 VBO and a VAO

- begin is called and sets the alpha mode

- draw is called and checks to see if the texture has been batched already if so it adds the new points to the batch if not it creates a new batch item and adds the points to it. if the max sprites is reached it will draw the batch

- end all the current batch sprites are rendered

header
[url="http://pastebin.com/p20Ehy9s"]http://pastebin.com/p20Ehy9s[/url]

Cpp file
[url="http://pastebin.com/F8Gz6UQM"]http://pastebin.com/F8Gz6UQM[/url]

I have tried a few things to improve performance but with not success. I expect its the method I'm using and that way that im using openGL thats causing the issue.

Thanks Dekowta

ingramb    440
I think your problem may be glMultiDrawArrays. My understanding is that this doesnt really map to the gpu. You will still get one draw call per entry you send to glMultiDrawArrays. The only benefit is reduced driver overhead. You should be able to send all the sprites as a list of quads just using GL QUADS and glDrawArrays. I think this will be much faster.

mhagain    13430