C++, should I switch?

Started by
27 comments, last by jbadams 11 years, 7 months ago
I started learning C++ some time ago, and feel I am a competent programmer. However I've read using C# and Java makes developing applications and games much quicker, and theres a less steep learning curve. I know about how dealing with bugs is easier in those languages, however that doesn't make me want to switch. Essentially, I am asking if I should switch to C#. I've succeeded in making a tic tac toe game and Simple R.P.G. in C++, and know a lot about the language. I really like C++ and so far have had fun learning how to program with it. So should I give up on C++ and switch to C# now that I'm a few months in. (For clarification, C++ is my first language.

I'm a game programmer and computer science ninja !

Here's my 2D RPG-Ish Platformer Programmed in Python + Pygame, with a Custom Level Editor and Rendering System!

Here's my Custom IDE / Debugger Programmed in Pure Python and Designed from the Ground Up for Programming Education!

Want to ask about Python, Flask, wxPython, Pygame, C++, HTML5, CSS3, Javascript, jQuery, C++, Vimscript, SFML 1.6 / 2.0, or anything else? Recruiting for a game development team and need a passionate programmer? Just want to talk about programming? Email me here:

hobohm.business@gmail.com

or Personal-Message me on here !

Advertisement
Don't switch.

Experiment.
There is one major downside to switching...

Once you've programmed in a sane language, C++ feels SOOOOOOO much *more* painful. I need to make my own ??what??, to do what?? Really..... sheeesh.

Telestyn pretty much got it in one. You are going to be picking up many different languages over your career; dont look at it as leaving one behind, but learning a new one. Your knowledge doesn't magically go away. In fact, learning a second language will generally make you better at your first language.