Sign in to follow this  
Kelsys

Pre-built Game Engines

Hi, I am relatively new to game development.

I am currently developing my own game (or at least, in the process of it) but it's slow going because I do not have sufficient programming knowledge. I intend on running my game on PC. I am able to handle the animation and drawing aspects on my own, and have already produced ingame art (as such, this topic does not concern that aspect at all), but having only started learning C++ last year I find it extremely slow sailing. My biggest problem right now is acquiring a working game engine. I understand the basic game loop, but I've found I've had to refer repeatedly to many previous examples and spend hours in order to construct one entirely from scratch. Furthermore, the end result turns out looking extremely newbish, buggy and hardly anywhere near what I want to do.

I was wondering about pre-built game engines; I was thinking of using what they offer for the basics, and then building upon those aspects and then adding on to it extensively to tailor to my game. Also, I'd be able to see first-hand examples of how a real, practical game loop looks and learn from it.

How many are there available? What degree of freedom that they allow? How many 'good' ones are there available (preferably C++)? Do game engines manage sprite and sound libraries? If you know of any 'good' engines, what are some reasons that you would consider those 'good'?

I am constructing a 2d side-scrolling game but hope to incorporate my own gameplay elements and customize the GUI on my own, so which game engines would allow me to add these functions? Are there any open source 2d game pre-built game engines?

How does open-source apply to game engines? If I use an engine, do I lose some of my rights to my game? What are the legal effects (ownership, rights, etc) of using a game engine?