Sign in to follow this  
ATC

Need help with Matrix decomposition algorithm...

Hello again my noble Lords and Ladies, lol...

I'm running through all of the essential data types of my engine (Vector2, Vector3, Vector4, ColorF, Quaternion, Matrix, etc...). I've just fixed all the bugs in my math API and added some optimizations for speed/efficiency. But now I'm left with one last problem... This dreaded Matrix.Decompose method!

I really just don't know wtf I'm doing on this one, which feels unusual and frustrating for a figure-it-out-guy like me... I was able to handle everything else in the API, but this one just escapes me for some reason. I'm a college dropout and self-taught programmer (and self-taught at almost everything else lol...always learned better on my own). I only had a year and one semester of college, so I lack formal education in complex mathematics. So when I look up matrix decomposition, on Wikipedia for instance, it's all a bunch of "junk" and symbols that have no meaning to [i]me[/i]... For example, I have no clue wtf this is supposed to be/mean:

[img]http://upload.wikimedia.org/math/5/b/3/5b382df47b3fe37fcd8ce6db40bc9a9e.png[/img]

I tried implementing this several different times and could never get it to work and yield proper results... it's a very big, mind-numbing operation. Since it would never work I ended up scrapping the code I wrote, so I don't even have code to post. I'm [i]very [/i]sorry for that, as I know it's frowned upon to come here with no code because it shows no [i]effort[/i]. But believe me, I've tried and tried and tried to figure this out. If you've seen any of my other posts over the past few years you'll know I'm not the type of guy who comes here and asks others to do my work for me!