As a beginner in Game Programming, I just realized something.

Started by
9 comments, last by DracoLacertae 11 years, 6 months ago
I just realized: For simpler games, the bulk of the work is programming the GUI's/Setting up the User Interface. Getting down the actual functionality is actually really easy, but working with GUI's and figuring out how to implement that system was harder for me. I'm sure for more complex games with huge menus, like RPG's, it's just as Important/Hard, but It surprised me. Today I started breakout. The actual game is probably going to be done in the next three hours, and the menu would take way longer, but if you look at my posts, I made a special set of classes called SimpleGUI for SFML that I'm going to use. Is this true for the larger games you guys make that aren't so simple in functionality, or will I find that when I start making my own games it's actually a way smaller part of the design process?

I'm a game programmer and computer science ninja !

Here's my 2D RPG-Ish Platformer Programmed in Python + Pygame, with a Custom Level Editor and Rendering System!

Here's my Custom IDE / Debugger Programmed in Pure Python and Designed from the Ground Up for Programming Education!

Want to ask about Python, Flask, wxPython, Pygame, C++, HTML5, CSS3, Javascript, jQuery, C++, Vimscript, SFML 1.6 / 2.0, or anything else? Recruiting for a game development team and need a passionate programmer? Just want to talk about programming? Email me here:

hobohm.business@gmail.com

or Personal-Message me on here !

Advertisement
networking sucks most imo
GUIs beat me up also. For me, it's not the GUIs themselves but the interaction between the GUIs and the rest of the game, since if I'm using a GUI library (which I am), then it tries to make me do things its way with its paradigns, which are at odds with the way the rest of my game is set up. rolleyes.gif