Flash? Javascript? C++?

Started by
2 comments, last by DangerDoom 11 years, 6 months ago
I've been doing C++ for about 7 months now. C++ is great, but its a complex for a beginner to just straight out make a game. Another thing I noticed was that C++ is not web-based. So i looked for simple and web-based and found flash and javascript, what else is there?
I still want to learn the powerful C++ though, will flash be easy to learn for me? My overall questions are:
1) Is it worth learning a more web-based simple language alongside c++?
IF SO:
2) What language (eg.Flash) works best and why?
3)How do I get started with this language, will this language be easy to learn for somebody who knows c++?
Advertisement
1. Sure, why wouldn't it be? C++ will be of little use to you in itself when writing client-side web scripts, so knowing javascript will be very useful

2. Little note: Flash is not a language in itself, but a platform. Flash uses a scripting language called actionscript which is a dialect of ECMAScript, which makes it a relative of javascript as javascript is also an ECMAScript dialect. Which language to learn will be up to what you want to do with it. Flash is a platform mostly for multimedia content (mostly inside a web browser) while javascript is also suitable for general-purpose client side scripting for web browsers.

3. You get started with it like with any other language, look for learning materials (books, tutorials, online references, etc.). Knowledge of C++ should provide you with a good understanding of general programming, so it shouldn't be too hard for you to pick it up.

I gets all your texture budgets!

I personally used ActionScript for over 6 years, have to say it was fairly simple to start with, learn pretty much all of the common programming techniques.
Only now do I feel comfortable going into C++ which is a bit harder, but still a piece of cake to understand because of previous experiences.