Android game doesn't run every other time?

Started by
2 comments, last by n3oplasm 11 years, 5 months ago
I'm writing an android game and am having a problem when running it from the launcher.

if i start it from eclipse it works every time, but the next time i go to run it from the launcher I just get an unresponsive white screen(probably just my blank surfaceview, or maybe it's not even displaying the surfaceview and it's just my blank activity). After I run it once on the launcher and wait for it to crash and force close, the next time I run it it works fine. The next time after that that I run it from the launcher, I get the white screen again, and the next time it runs fine and so on.

I'm guessing I'm not handling my thread/activity lifecycle correctly, I could be wrong tho as I am very new to android.

heres code for my start activity:

public class GameActivity extends Activity {
GameView game;
@Override
public void onCreate(Bundle savedInstanceState) {
super.onCreate(savedInstanceState);
System.out.println("goin good so far");
SpriteManager.man.setAssets(this.getAssets());
game = new GameView(this);
setContentView(game);
//game.start();

}
@Override
public boolean onCreateOptionsMenu(Menu menu) {
getMenuInflater().inflate(R.menu.activity_main, menu);
return true;
}

public void onPause() {
super.onPause();
game.pause();
}

public void onResume() {
super.onResume();
game.resume();
}
}

and my start/resume/pause methods in the game class

public void start() {
running = true;
thread.start();
}

public void resume() {
if (!running)
start();
}

public void pause() {

running = false;
while(true) {
try {
thread.join();
} catch (InterruptedException e) {
// retry
}
}
}

running is a volatile boolean. thread is just my main game thread. Right now my code is a little weird because I was messing around with the activity lifecycle trying to fix my problem so theres so random If's and things commented out.