Industry's look on tattoos etc.

Started by
17 comments, last by Tom Sloper 11 years, 4 months ago
I'm currently studying to become a games developer/programmer and have a tattoo sleeve but due to it being around an inch above my wrist I can easily cover it up (long sleeved shirt etc.) if need be. also was thinking of having a flesh tunnel in one of my ears (around 5mm - not like it matters) what are the views upon these things in the games industry (employment wise) anyone who has been in the industry and knows about the policy.
All answers are greatly appreciated
Thanks.
Advertisement
It will most likely make you less desirable for some people and/or studios, compared to an unadorned human. Get the wrong interviewer and you might be racking up some negative points due to their personal opinions and ideals, even subconciously.

In general though, this industry tends to be quite used to strange-looking misfits. Just look at the people in an average art department and you'll see lots of strange stuff.

To make it is hell. To fail is divine.

Thanks for the reply Zao, I see where you're coming from with the wrong interviewer, i'm aware that there are 'flesh coloured plugs' which obviously take most of the distraction from them away if that would help when working/interview stages.

Industry's look on tattoos etc.
what are the views upon these things in the games industry (employment wise) anyone who has been in the industry and knows about the policy.

There is no such thing as "the policy." And in a sense, there is no such thing as "the industry" in the sense that everybody in the industry thinks alike.
The industry is made up of individuals, many of whom have tattoos and piercings. Long hair, no hair, weirdbeards, we get it all.
If you had a tattoo on your forehead that said "f-bomb you," then you should wear a hat to the interview, and never ever take it off on the job.

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com