Li Xiao'an - Online Portfolio

Started by
9 comments, last by xiaoan 11 years, 2 months ago
Hi everyone, I am a composer of music, both sequenced and played live, in a wide range of styles and group sizes.

I have recently turned my attention to the possibility of writing music for video games, and have prepared a small online portfolio.

http://soundcloud.co...o-game-music-1/

I would appreciate your feedback and criticism greatly; and if my music is of interest to you and you think we may possibly collaborate in the future, please don't hesitate to send me a message. In any event, I hope you enjoy listening to it!

(More than 50% of the tracks are suitable for looping)

Xiao'an

Li Xiao'an

Composer | Music Director

www.xiaoanli.com (Personal)

www.eastcoastscoring.com

Twitter: @lxiaoan

Advertisement
Your Boss Battle cue reminded me of many of the Final Fantasy cues - well done! I felt the choir was a bit oddly placed in the mix but the rest of the arrangement was pretty good. The low end could be brought up some but the musical aspects of the piece were solid. I enjoyed listening to it... made me want to kill a big, bad guy! What were you using for the choir?

Exploring the Plains was also nice - reminded me of Chrono Cross. I do feel like you could experiment more with the note velocities in the harp as well as play around with tempos and note placement so it's not so.... perfect all of the time. Humans don't play that perfectly so when writing with acoustic instrumentations I strive to make it as organic as possible. The term I usually use is humanistic.

Thanks for sharing!

Nate

Nathan Madsen
Nate (AT) MadsenStudios (DOT) Com
Composer-Sound Designer
Madsen Studios
Austin, TX

Thanks for the feedback! Yeah I actually had the harp notes played in manually but I had to hard quantize it as the timing was terrible, haha! Regarding the velocities, I was trying but it seems that cineharp in its upper registers gets pretty harsh. Do you have any tips for that?