Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

sandeepdeshpande

Good books for getting the domain knowledge

Guys and Gals, I am trying to expand my knowledge in this field. I am new to the world of computer gaming butI do have fairly strong engineering / scientific programming background as I am working in electrical CAD software tools debvelopment for 5 years or so. (with acedamic background in Maths, physics, computer graphics etc.) So what I am looking for is NOT a basic programming book (C/C++ etc.) but something that will be useful for me to get up to the speed where I can write simple games and understand terminology. Thanks in advance for suggestions. -Sandeep

I can recommend:
- Game Programming Gems I & II
- 3D Game Engine Design, Eberly, David. H.
- Michael Abrash''s book, a bit outdated, but interesting.

These are also useful, but with your background probably not neccessary:
- Realtime Rendering, Moeller, Haines
- Computer Graphics: Principles & Practice, Foley, Van Dam, Feiner, Hughes

However, all these books deal primarily with Maths/Physics/Rendering techniques and the like. With your experience, I suggest you get the QuakeI, Half-Life, Unreal and Quake Tools sources and have fun ;-)

However, these require some effort and are rather ''hardcore'' stuff, not suitable for people who ''just wanna make a game'', but for people who want to switch jobs perhaps

For more simple stuff, I think the internet will help you more. Look at www.flipcode.com, www.gamasutra.com and of course gamedev.net

The source for the engines to those games aren''t readily available - they make a certain set of the libraries available for modding, the rendering and physics code isn''t dished out for free (far from it).

You ought to be able to make a simple 2D game using the MSDN library docs & examples on Win32 and DirectX. Where it gets hard is simulating a 3D environment.