Installing Linux Right Now, And I Have Some Questions.

Started by
7 comments, last by shadowisadog 11 years, 4 months ago
Hello all! It's been a while since I started a topic, however I have an important one. Right now, I'm installing Mint Linux, and I thought it might be smart to ask some of the experienced programmers on here some questions (If you don't mind my non-smart brain :))

1) What is the best Linux IDE (In Your Opinion)

2) What are the Linux 101 programs I need to get right-away?

3) Is using the shell good for programming

Also, I'm getting Linux Mint 14 Cinnamon (Sorry, I just love good GUI's :))

Please help me understand the strange world of linux, cheers :)!

I'm a game programmer and computer science ninja !

Here's my 2D RPG-Ish Platformer Programmed in Python + Pygame, with a Custom Level Editor and Rendering System!

Here's my Custom IDE / Debugger Programmed in Pure Python and Designed from the Ground Up for Programming Education!

Want to ask about Python, Flask, wxPython, Pygame, C++, HTML5, CSS3, Javascript, jQuery, C++, Vimscript, SFML 1.6 / 2.0, or anything else? Recruiting for a game development team and need a passionate programmer? Just want to talk about programming? Email me here:

hobohm.business@gmail.com

or Personal-Message me on here !

Advertisement
1. Currently using Kate right now, it's a test editor with a lot of features.

2. You need to get g++ or clang, by default mint doesn't come with a c++ compiler.

3. shell is useful in unix-like OS's. The main reason I am using Kate editor is because it has an integrated terminal emulator, so I can edit code on one half of the screen, and compile with makefile and test the program on the other half of the screen without needing to switch windows.

I am using linux mint 13 now ;o

1) What is the best Linux IDE (In Your Opinion)