How to tackle designing?

Started by
2 comments, last by superman3275 11 years, 5 months ago
I'm an SDL newbie and I'm competent with the fundamentals of C++. How should I design a game prior? I've tried thinking of the objects I require but that resulted in incoherent spagetti code. Thanks smile.png
Advertisement
Start with hello world.

Then move on to pong or tic tac toe.

Then move on to tetris or a similar falling block game.

Then move on to a side scroller.

Taking too large of steps results in nightmares, frustration, and loss of hope. Take small steps.

How should I design a game prior? I've tried thinking of the objects I require but that resulted in incoherent spagetti code.

Figure out what you want the game to be. What is the environment and what is the point of view - what does the player see on the screen? What movable objects are there, how should they interact with other objects and with the environment? What is the player's goal, is there a scoring system? How does success work, how does failure work? Is the game multiplayer? And so on. Think about every aspect of the game in advance, and write down the details. Yes, the game will change as development progresses, but at least you had a plan to start with.

-- Tom Sloper -- sloperama.com

Do this right now:

1) Get a piece of paper and a pencil

2) Write as a header: "Function"

3) Think about exactly what your game is and right it down.

Example for Pong:

Pong is a 2d game. There are two paddles. One is player controlled and the other is A.I. controlled. There is a ball that moves around the screen. Whenever the ball hits a paddle I reverse either it's x or y velocity depending on which side it hits. The paddles are both next to the top and bottom of the screen. If the ball goes past a paddle the game ends....

This is important. You need to define your goals, limits, and conditions right now. You need to understand the rules, and the extent of your game. Write it all down.