Engine for simple Browsergame

Started by
2 comments, last by minibutmany 11 years, 4 months ago
Hello together,

I've tried to make one of the old/typical browsergames by my own with html, php, sql.
Because im pretty new to this staff I couldn't finish this project due to no experience and some problems.

Then I startet to search browser based game engines... and found some buggy sh1t hehe :D

Now I want you all to ask this:
1) Do you know an engine, wich comes with the following features (see sfgame.co.uk for ref):
- character (creation, leveling, attributes)
- quest (random quests, story quests)
- pvp (arena, massfight/guildfight)
- guild (permissions, bonuses)
- items (shops, inventar)

2) If not, is this forum the right place to get some experienced help with php browsergames?

I know ofc that point 1) is much. Maybe you know something that matches a bit of them. I learned some other things better by getting some small and made it great.

Thanks
cu
Advertisement
If you are determined to make this run in a browser, I would recommend using javascript instead of php. Paired with the HTML canvas, JS is a great tool for graphics applications. I think that PHP is really quite confusing compared to JS, which is much higher level. A game engine as extensive as what you are looking for is rare for most any language, mainly because many of those features are actually quite easy to implement once a properly structured GUI is put in place and you are managing your data efficiently.
The book HTML 5 Canvas by the fulton brothers is actually quite spot on to the tasks you are trying to acheive here.
http://www.amazon.com/HTML5-Canvas-Steve-Fulton/dp/144939390X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1354987431&sr=8-1&keywords=html+5+canvas
I hope this is helpful.
Stay gold, Pony Boy.
Hey and thanks.
Is JS usable for multiplayer browsergames too?