Which programming language should I teach myself?

Started by
14 comments, last by AlanWu 11 years, 4 months ago
I have spent a few weeks learning c++ and have written a few long programs but everyone tells me c++ is useless. Is that true? If so what is the best language to start with? I plan to try and create my own games once I settle on a language.
Advertisement
I don't think C++ is useless. I think its still worthwhile to learn C++ even for game development. It might not be the most productive language to learn for gamedev though.
Ive written a bunch of fully functional console programs with c++ but Im not really sure where to go from there to start creating graphical programs. Im still very new at all this
Try http://www.sfml-dev.org/tutorials/1.6/ for 2D graphics, high level functioning event handlers, audio, image manipulation, etc. Works well with C++. For the very basic, just figure out how to make pong.

Also, there is no best language. Think of programming languages as vehicles. There is no one good vehicle, they are all based on the individuals preference. Each language has their own unique functionality. C++ is known to be much faster in some aspect of game development when dealing with complex algorithms, number crunching, large amounts of collision detection needed as well.

everyone tells me c++ is useless.

ask these "everyones" what OS they have and yep, it's written in C/C++. Ask them which browser they use, yep, C/C++ again. Ask them if they have played any big game lately... you've guessed, C/C++. Ask them what program they use day to day on their PC/Phones/Tablet.. here we go again, C/C++.. and if they tell you they use Java,.NET, Python, Javascript, you name it.. ask them how the jvm, the clr and the other runtime are coded with? right.. C/C++ .
As Herb Sutter puts it: "the world is built on C/C++".

Stefano Casillo
TWITTER: [twitter]KunosStefano[/twitter]
AssettoCorsa - netKar PRO - Kunos Simulazioni

nvm