Moving to C++ From C

Started by
11 comments, last by Ectara 11 years, 4 months ago
The main reason that I've been using C89 for many years is that it is one of the least common denominators in any platforms that I've seen; my code runs with little complaint on an ANSI C compiler, and that is the main reason that I have always used C.

However, over the past year, the features of C++ have me yearning. Doing all of the things that I've always done to program in an object-oriented fashion in C seem caveman-like and old fashioned; doing object-oriented programming in an object-oriented language would be a godsend compared to how much work it is to do anything of the sort in a language without features that expedite object-oriented design.

All of my codebase is in C. Every personal project that I've ever done up to this very second has been in C. It's almost become a matter of loyalty and discipline to maintain the utmost compatibility by using the earliest standard of C. But at the same time, I know that doing this in a more advanced (and complex) language would make my progress soar, due to the lowered time to develop my projects, and implement them.

I have more or less mastered C; I've read many books on it, spent years learning it, wrote a couple compilers in it. I have a decent amount of experience in C++; the commonalities with C, a couple c++ classes that I had to take, and a couple books that I've read.