"So I have an Idea for a game........."

Started by
11 comments, last by JonathanJ1990 11 years, 3 months ago
Hey All i am a young developer and in the past year I have been amazed at how many times i have heard the topic title statement from people who mean it in a funny way ( such as my mother) to people who honestly think they have the formula for the next skyrim and with a little of my time and effort they could bring it to life (Sadly usually their idea is neither that great and i am not nearly that skilled ). So I was curious how do you guys respond when someone with no game development experience attempts to begin a conversation topic like this?
Advertisement
I can't say i've ever been in this position, the only people whom i share my work with are my friends, and they know that i'm not going to be making them a game. they may not be programmers but they at least understand the immense amount of work that goes into making a game. other than that, i tend to keep away from telling people i'm a programmer, or am good with computers because i hate people asking me for help with their computer problems, as if i understand every button/error, on every device, for every piece of software. I get more than enough of that crap with my mom.
Check out https://www.facebook.com/LiquidGames for some great games made by me on the Playstation Mobile market.
Kids do it. They ask; What do you do / What are you doing? And I tell them I'm working on a game. I've agreed a few times on sitting down with them to create something, but usually they get bored too fast. - Even when I pick easy stuff that's visually testable within half an hour.
With grown ups, it usually stays at the discussion stage. Other projects besides games come up quite often, and I keep stressing to them, that if I'm the only one contributing, I should be the only one given credit, -as they'd rarely have anything to contribute.