So I have the skill and the ideas, what next?

Started by
12 comments, last by makuto 11 years, 3 months ago

I've been programming for three years now and am confident in my abilities to make two dimensional games. I also have lots of ideas for games that I want to develop.

The main problem I'm having is what to do next. I usually come up with an idea, mull it over for a few days, write it down, get excited about it, then get discouraged about the idea, my life, and various other things and abandon the idea. Remember that technology isn't the problem here.

What do you do once you have an idea you'd potentially like to explore, especially in a timely manner?

Want to get to know my work and I better? See my website: Au 79 Games

I wrote General Tips on the Process of Solo Game Development

Advertisement

You're thinking too much. Just do it.

That's all, just do it - do it so you can do it better next time, do it so you can learn, do it for YOURSELF and so you don't become another "would be" game developer.

I have to agree and say just do it.

Another thing that helps me is to give myself certain features to implement in a certain time frame This may not be the best for everybody because it may take some of the fun away. For me, it keeps me on track and focused. When I get something completed I reward myself to keep myself inspired. If I get frustrated, then I take a break and reward myself for trying so I don't get discouraged.

Hope that helps, but you will learn more by doing than you ever will in a textbook.

Fly Safe 7o

You need yourself :)

I had this problem as a young writer. I would sit down and start writing a story and it would go well until a certain point, then I would stop and look at it and say to myself, "This is trash. Nobody will want to read this." When my friends would pester me to show my writing they would always act amazed and impressed, but I was certain they were just trying to encourage me and that my writing was really quite poor.