Starting Point

Started by
4 comments, last by minibutmany 11 years, 3 months ago

Hey guys, I have no programming experience what so ever and I've always wanted to make game so I thought were else to start but at a game development forum. The game doesn't have to be fancy just start at something basic and eventually build my way to up to anything like Mario or a 2d sidescroller or rpg. Where should I start, which language should I learn? And what else do I need to know? Thanks a ton.

Advertisement

First thing: pick up some programming books. You can download some pdf ones from the internet. I would suggest starting either in c++ or java. Go with java, since its the most common language; and it can be used to make console, GUI, and web based programs, including games!

Start out simple and get a feel for programming, then increase the level of difficulty. After you learn the language on a moderate level, pick up a book on game development and fundamentals. That will give you a good idea on how to design a game. Planning is the most important part of development, REMEMBER THAT!

If you have any questions or need help getting started with programming, message me on here, or add me on skype: daniel.lamonds

add me on skype, i need some new associates for coding.

c++, Visual basic, fortran, html/5, css, php,java script, sql, others......

Python would be a great language to start with.

Before you can make any games you need to know a language, and then how to develop them.

The first port of call is to spend some quality time(about a month or two) learning the basics of your first language. I usually recommend either C or Java, but in this case I would agree that Python would be an ideal choice for a beginner.