Will i make it in game dev ?

Started by
12 comments, last by Nicholas Kong 11 years, 3 months ago

guys, I'm an computer science engineer and I love to get into game development...i just enjoy the whole concept and its always held my interest..Im good at programming
BUT! my whole life ive never ever been good at math...it just doesnt interest me and i never bothered to study it....only a couple of times when my passing the year had depended on it had i given it a look and scored good marks else id alwys manage with the least possible marks to make it thru the year in math...
Now, I know that game programming involves a lot of complex math..do you think its a good choice for me ? I'm willing to learn math if its for game programming but realistically speaking...im 21 and almost zero at math except for the basic stuff....do you think ill be able to catch up in time to be any good at it ? or should I just forget this career?

Advertisement

I recon start with 2D games. 2D games really doesn't have that much math in it in my opinion, your only dealing with x's and y's (2 axis).

When I looked at a DirectX11 (3D11) book on amazon and read the maths sample part of the book I was totally confused, I guess it will just take time to develop skills developing with 3D environments.

What's "the basic stuff"? Addition and subtraction? Algebra? Trigonometry? If you know them, then you've got more than enough to get started.

In regular "gameplay" programming, there isn't really that much complex math.

I specialize in 3D graphics, which has a lot more math than gameplay systems, and I was in a similar position -- I learnt most of my math skills "on the job" instead of in school.

In high-school I did "regular" math instead of the "advanced" class, and in university I did "business" math classes instead of "science/physics" ones.