Quest systems for database?

Started by
3 comments, last by LordRhys 11 years, 3 months ago

I am in the last stage of my database development and need to create a quest system for an MMO-RPG, which is the one thing i have never done before...

So far the only way i can think of to do this is to have a table with every quest conversation/achievement which is linked through to the next part in the quest. along with a link to my npc table of which npc the quest is selected from.

How would one go about keeping track of what quests the character has completed? would it require a quest sheet (bool variables for each quest) for each character?

ex:

npc----

-map_id //which map the character is on

-quest_id //linked to npc when talked to , displayes message

//other stuff for npc

quest---

-quest_id

-quest_message

-quest_rewards

-quest_next //linked to npc which holds the next quest part

completion_sheet

-(lists all quest ids and holds 1 or 0)

so, when i talk to npc it checks to see if completion sheet for the quest id is already done, then if it is, nothing happens, else, it calls the quest message and displays it, then you find the next guy and get the reward... Does it make sense? How would I keep up with say... killing a specific number of monsters or collecting something?

add me on skype, i need some new associates for coding.

c++, Visual basic, fortran, html/5, css, php,java script, sql, others......

Advertisement

I like the solution proposed to this question the last time it was asked: that a quest system be handled much like an inventory. When an NPC gives a character a quest, he/she literally gives the character the quest