So how do I start learning programming?

Started by
11 comments, last by Landshark 11 years, 2 months ago

First of all you need to know I have ZERO knowledge about programming.Then someone told me I need to learn Javascript to make games.After a few minutes roaming the internet I'm stuck.I have few questions:

1.Is javascript the most basic scripting language?

2.Do I need to learn HTML first or should I just start with Javascript

3.Where is the best sites to learn them?

4.Does learning Javascript is enough to make games?Programming wise,that is.

Advertisement

Zrifepsych,

JavaScript may not be the most basic scripting language; however, you will find more resources for JavaScript than some other basic scripting languages. HTML and JavaScript are like shoes and shoelaces. You can wear shoes without shoelaces but using shoelaces makes the experience so much better. I would learn the basics of HTML to help with learning JavaScript. For JavaScript you can check out the following websites:

1. https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/JavaScript
  2. http://cs.brown.edu/courses/bridge/1998/res/javascript/javascript-tutorial.html
  3. http://www.echoecho.com/javascript.htm

For HTML you can check out the following websites:

Learning HTML and JavaScript will give you a foundation for a game; however, it may not meet/exceed your expectations.

What type of game are you wanting to make?

One last note, w3schools may show up in your search results for HTML or JavaScript but I recommend staying away from that website. Why? See this http://w3fools.com/

[|: rileyw :|]

I've been studying various subjects over the past few years. Programming is one of them, I used books to learn, some have been helpful, others have made it more confusing for me.