[C++] Snake movement problem

Started by
7 comments, last by Stroppy Katamari 11 years, 2 months ago

Okay I feel really stupid... I've been trying to create a Snake clone. Right now I'm just doing it in the console with a number grid - though it'll be easily be turned to graphics with SFML. Just trying to get the basics done before graphics.

Anyway...okay I was trying to do the snake with a linked list(Which I've never used before). Moves around just fine. Except I must be creating it incorrectly or something. Because I cannot seem to grab the end of the snake's coordinates. It continually thinks it's the same - and I want them in order to make it empty when the end moves.

I know I'm sure I'm doing plenty of unnecessary things. My brains just been fried and I think I know what it is, but just can't solve it. Ready for a brain replacement.

Code:

snake.h

#include <iostream>

#include "grid.h"

class Snake
{
public:
	Snake();

enum Direction
	{
		UP,
		DOWN,
		LEFT,
		RIGHT,
	};

void createSnake(Grid &grid);
	void move( Direction direct );
	void grow();

int getPosX();
	int getPosY();

private:

int mPosX;
	int mPosY;
	int mDirection;
	int mEndX;
	int mEndY;

int getEndX();
	int getEndY();

void moveNode( Snake *link, int x, int y );

Snake *next;
	Snake *head;
	Snake *link;
};

snake.cpp

void Snake::createSnake(Grid &grid)
{
	mGrid = &grid;
	head = new Snake;
	head->next = 0;
	head->mPosX = 10;
	head->mPosY = 10;
	mGrid->setCell(grid.SNAKE, head->mPosX, head->mPosY);

for( int i = 0; i < 2; i++ )
	{
		this->link = head;
		if( this->link != 0 )
		{
			this->link->next = new Snake;
			this->link = this->link->next;
			this->link->next = 0;
			this->link->mPosX = 11 + i;
			this->link->mPosY = 10;
			mGrid->setCell(mGrid->SNAKE, this->link->mPosX, this->link->mPosY);
		}
	}

}

int Snake::getEndX()
{
	this->link = head;
	while ( this->link->next != 0 ) 
	{
		std::cout << "X: " << this->link->mPosX << std::endl;
	}
	return this->link->mPosX;
}