How feasible is using the NDK?

Started by
14 comments, last by JoeJ 11 years, 1 month ago

Hey, sorry to piggy back on this thread, but I'm also just doing an introductory look into android, but I'm looking to use the NDK. How feasible is using the NDK? How easy is it to integrate an already made C++ engine to work with Android? I know there is some unavoidable Java code that I'll have to write to query platform features and such, but how intrusive is that code?

I'm an experienced C++ programmer and would really like to target the platform if it doesn't require a whole rewrite of my engine.

Perception is when one imagination clashes with another
Advertisement
Spitting this off to its own thread. Please start a new thread for a new question.
Exactly how easy or difficult it would be depends entirely on the code base.

There is no way to know with the information you provided.

If you have a small code base or an extremely simple code base it could be a relatively simple matter.

If you have a large code base or an extremely complex code base it could be a relatively complex matter.

Hah fair enough, sorry to intrude on the other thread.

I have an engine that is primarily just rendering tech with some additional functionality like cameras, file IO, the like. It's a completely cross platform engine though, and I render using OpenGL, DirectX 9, and DirectX 11. I should be able to fold OpenGL ES into my engine well enough, but I'm worried about rendering not being a clean break from Java. Like how much Java code would I have to write to just get my engine spinning under the hood?

I'm sorry, I know it's a very vague question.

I don't understand what you are trying to get at with the question.

We cannot give an answer that makes sense. "It takes 3 units of work". Or maybe more. Or less. We don't know your engine.

Is it possible? Yes, it is possible.

I guess my question is, how intrusive is the Java code necessary to properly initialize an engine and run with it?