Help learning how to structure code efficient and flexible

Started by
9 comments, last by MrAndersDk 11 years, 1 month ago

Hello, I'm new to game programming and new to this forum.

I try to look through the forum, the books and the articles, but the content is so vast that I could not find what I was looking for. My background is PhD in physics and all my programming skills are through my education. I'm not a great programmer and for this reason i started playing around with game make studio, because it seemed simple. I've watched a lot of tutorials on youtube and read some articles and I think I've got the basics down. I want to make games in my past time and not professional and I think I will do it as a one man thing, at least in the beginning.

Now to my problem. Whenever I try to start making a game I loose the overview of the game. I simply don't know how to make efficient structure of the game. That is what to put where, should i use the build in physics engine, should i write something my self. What code should be put in the objects what should be put in scripts, and the list goes on.

All tutorials I have found are very basic, so if a tutorial says it will show you how to make a platformer, it will show you how to make a solid object and a player you can control. I can do that, however my code is very messy and not very flexible. So if I suddenly want to integrate for example a level up system for the player, it will be very difficult. Another example, I can make a player that can shoot and kill enemies, but if i want to add the possibility to change weapons, again it gets very messy.