Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

3d engines, or engines in general

This topic is 5245 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

im pretty new to programming, and i was just wondering what elements make up a 3d engine. i know that is probably a little vague, or too general for engines, but if it provides me with even a general idea of their setup, then it will be considered great help. thanks in advance, its appreciated! Auxil

My answer will be as vague as your question. As you said - the engines CAN look different but of course there are some ground rules for the design of a 3D-engine.

You could look at it as this:
The reason for the engine to exist is to help you make a game faster through reuse of components and code.
Then we need to create an abstract engine that can be used in several games, of course in the same game-domain.

You can think of a world like the real world for example where you have entitys that are static and entitys that non-static e.g. a moving person.
The static objects are for example houses and trees.
So what we need is an class / module that handles the objects.
Besides the entitys we have the natural phenomenas like lights, fog and reflection. Theese modules have to created as well. For example a lightning-module / class.
So what you do is you litteraly create a component-model for each and everyone of the different entitys and phenomenas.
Next we define the realationship between the modules.
What we do is that we create a wrapper around theese modules. The reasons is because we want to simplify the use of the modules.
In a scene we want to be able to create a set of entitys and effects and then perform the game-related stuff like running around and so on. Lastly we want to render the scene using our wrapper for e.g. DX or OGL.