Game Maker Development

Started by
1 comment, last by jbadams 11 years ago

Hey there guys. I'm new to this site and i am looking forward to soaking up as much info as i can. Well i am developing a 2d game (metroid vania) using the Game Maker development tools. 1st question: If i want to consider a console port do i need to use a different Game programming tool? I read on Kicks Starter that the guys behind Cryamore are going to do a Wii U, PSN port but were told they would have to switch development over to Unity. 2nd Question: Is Game Maker only good for making prototypes? I'm not a programmer at all. I am an artist and designer/creator so working with Game maker is a dream. Plus i don't know anyone who is proficient in programming. Please help.

Advertisement

You'd have to check the Yoyo website to get the specifics. But at this time, if you have the modules(or the Master Collection) of GMStudio, you get windows, mac, linux(Ubuntu), HTML5, iOS, Android, Windows8(Javascript), and windows phone. So if you really insist on consoles like PS3/WiiU, you won't be able to directly use GameMaker for that. But in reality, you need much more than just game code to make something for most consoles, including SDKs, developer licenses, etc... and this applies to any coding manner, including Unity3d or any other engine.

Considering that GM is appealing to you, I'd stick with it. Assuming you got really good and were able to get the other requirements to port to consoles, then I'd think you'd know enough programming by then to use something other than GameMaker. Take smaller steps, and learn things as you go.